Summer Camp Update | Reopening Guide

Our kids need camp—now more than ever.

We're so excited to let you know that summer day camp has begun at all YMCA of South Hampton Roads locations! 

Know that the Y is doing all we can to move forward in order to provide a positive camp experience for our kids this summer, in the safest and most responsible way possible. In response to the Governor’s Phase Three guidelines for reopening, the Y has made a few key changes to our summer camp operating plan. These guidelines will be in place for the duration of Phase Three.

Transportation and Field Trips
  • All transportation and field trips are cancelled. 
  • Any funds paid will be refunded/credited to the session balance.
Swimming
  • We will begin swimming on Monday, July 6 following the latest guidelines. This may require smaller group sizes, shortened swim times and/or modified swim schedules. Please see your camp director for details on how swimming is impacted.
  • Parents of non-swimmers are asked to bring a Coast Guard approved life vest to help us minimize the sharing of materials. Life vests/jackets will be supplied to nonswimmers that are not able to supply their own. 

    Coast Guard approved personal flotation devices include the following stamp:

    This image shows a stamp used on all coast guard approved flotation devices.
  • All swim lesson add-ons are cancelled. Any funds paid will be refunded/credited to the session balance.
  • Splash pads and spray parks will continue to be closed.
Sports Camps
  • Sports camps will operate with a heavy focus on individual skills to reinforce social distancing.
  • Campers are asked to bring their own equipment to help us minimize the sharing of materials.
  • Game play will be prohibited.
Group Sizes
  • • Group size limit increases for Phase Three as long as social distancing of six feet can be maintained and children do not mix groups.
  • Staff to Child ratios are as follows:
    • Ages 2yrs: 1:8
    • Ages 3-4yrs: 1:10
    • Ages 5-12yrs: 1:15
Daily Health Screenings
  • Upon arrival to the program each day, parents/guardians will be asked a series of questions related to health practices.
  • Children and staff will continue to have temperature checks prior to entering the program.
  • Temperatures of 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher will not be permitted.
  • Children will need to be fever-free, with no fever-reducing medication, for 72 hours prior to being readmitted. This is a change from our normal 24 hour policy.
Alpine Tower: (Camp Red Feather and Camp Arrowhead)
  • Use of the Alpine Tower is prohibited. 
  • Campers registered for High Flying Adventure Camp will be offered a space in traditional camp.
  • Alternate team building activities have been planned in lieu of the Alpine Tower.
Outdoor Activities and Playgrounds
  • Outdoor activities are highly encouraged and camp directors have been working diligently to plan accordingly. 
  • Playgrounds will be utilized with cleaning and sanitization occurring before and after each use and with social distancing maintained.
Face Coverings
  • All staff will wear face coverings when working sign in/out.
  • All staff and children, over the age of 2 and when feasible, should wear cloth face coverings while inside the facility and when unable to maintain social distancing.
  • Parents are asked to provide face coverings for their campers, and the Y will provide children with
  • bandana tubes (gaiters) that can double as a face covering if needed.
  • Face coverings should be cleaned daily, following CDC guidelines.
Cleaning & Disinfecting

We have developed extensive cleaning protocols our staff will follow throughout the day.

  • Cleaning occurs before we open
  • Before and after each activity (including mealtime)
  • During transitions
  • Extensive sanitizing/disinfecting at closing.

This protocol also meets our state licensing requirements and we are following cleaning recommendations by the CDC.

Refund & Cancellations

In the event families need to cancel due to COVID-19, the Y is happy to refund any and all deposits, registration fees and weekly tuition paid. Please contact your camp director, listed at the bottom of this page.

Need to make changes to your camp registration?

If you need to move your child's registration to a different week, you can do that by logging into your YMCA account.

If receive a sibling or other discount or receive financial assistance from the Y or other assistance provider, or you wish to cancel your child's participation, please contact the camp director at your local YMCA (listed at the bottom of this page) to make changes to your registration.

We are continuously monitoring the guidelines set by the state and health officials and will update you with any additional information as it becomes available.

Safety Measures

Check In & Check Out

 

Children will be dropped off and picked up through a rides in/out system of arrival/departure to limit traffic in program space.


While in the car, temperatures of all children will be taken daily before admittance into the program. Staff will ask if medications were used to lower the child's temperature and if there are any household members with COVID-19. Temperatures above 100.4°F will not be admitted.


Children will be required to wash hands upon entering the child care space.


Upon arrival for check out, parents will remain in vehicle.


Staff member will check ID and children will be walked up and put in car.

Social Distancing & Health Habits

 

Children will be in groups no larger than state guidelines allow and will not integrate with other groups. 


YMCA child care staff will wear masks and other PPE. 


Children will be encouraged to stay six feet apart, especially during mealtime and transitions, and will be discouraged from touching one another. Activities will be modified to accommodate distancing.


Bathroom breaks will be scheduled every 2–3 hours, with mandatory hand washing.


Healthy hygiene education will be a daily part of each child's experience and activities will be planned to support this initiative.

Dining & Meal Procedures

 

Children and staff will wash their hands before entering the eating area.


Children and staff will go immediately to their table and will again sanitize their hands.


Children will only sit at a table with other children from their group, with a maximum of four children per table.


At the conclusion of each meal, tables and seats will be sanitized.


After the areas are cleaned, children will sanitize their hands and exit the eating area.


After leaving the eating area, before going to the next activity, children and staff will wash their hands.

Site Preparation & Maintenance

 

Prior to reopening for care, all child care spaces will be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected. 


Daily, staff will arrive at least 30 minutes prior to opening to prepare for children.


Water and bleach solution (10%) will be used for cleaning and sanitizing during program hours. Flex wipes will also be used to sanitize non-porous surfaces. Areas will be thoroughly disinfected at closing.


Toys, games and supplies will be cleaned and sanitized following each transition.


Staff will complete cleaning checklists throughout the day and keep written record of all areas.

YMCA Camp Directors

Location Child Care Director Email
Albemarle Family YMCA Allie Brouwere abrouwere@ymcashr.org
Blocker Norfolk Family YMCA Jeanette Breitenbucher jbreitenbucher@ymcashr.org
Blocker Norfolk Family YMCA Clayton Smith csmith@ymcashr.org
Currituck Family YMCA Tammy Gordon tgordon@ymcashr.org
Eastern Shore Family YMCA Logan McCullough lmcullough@ymcashr.org
Effingham Street Family YMCA Ms. T Williams twilliams@ymcashr.org
Great Bridge/Hickory Family YMCA Carmen Matlock cmatlock@ymcashr.org
Greenbrier Family YMCA Jacob Litzenberg jlitzenberg@ymcashr.org
Hilltop Family YMCA Seth Foster sfoster@ymcashr.org
Indian River Family YMCA Aaron Martin amartin@ymcashr.org
James L. Camp Jr. Family YMCA Ni'Jel Smith nsmith@ymcashr.org
Mt. Trashmore Family YMCA Christian Kaczmarek ckaczmarek@ymcashr.org
Outer Banks Family YMCA Alex Bartz abartz@ymcashr.org
Princess Anne Family YMCA Margaret Bowman mbowman@ymcashr.org
Salem YMCA Family Center Christian Kaczmarek ckaczmarek@ymcashr.org
Suffolk Family YMCA Shannon Wolfe swolfe@ymcashr.org
Suffolk Family YMCA Victoria Treat vtreat@ymcashr.org
Suffolk Family YMCA David Montgomery dmontgomery@ymcashr.org
Taylor Bend Family YMCA Elizabeth Hill ehill@ymcashr.org
The First Tee of Hampton Roads Jordan Green jgreen@ymcashr.org
YMCA of Portsmouth Jennifer Elion jelion@ymcashr.org
YMCA of South Boston/Halifax County Alyson Arrington aarrington@ymcashr.org
YMCA on Granby Marland Cook mcook@ymcashr.org

WARNING/DISCLAIMER: COVID-19 Pandemic is Ongoing

The novel coronavirus, COVID-19, is an extremely contagious virus that spreads easily through person-to-person contact. Federal and state authorities recommend social distancing as a means to prevent the spread of the virus. 

COVID-19 can lead to severe illness, personal injury, permanent disability, and death. Participating in this organization’s programs or accessing our facilities could increase the risk of contracting COVID-19. 

This organization in no way warrants that COVID-19 infection will not occur through participation in our programs or accessing our facilities.

When you first come back to the Y, you must sign the Assumption of Risk/Waiver of Liability.